babble home
rabble.ca - news for the rest of us
today's active topics

FAQ | Forum Home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» babble   » archived babble   » election 2006   » What will be the election night highlights?

Email this thread to someone!    
Author Topic: What will be the election night highlights?
Screaming Lord Byron
rabble-rouser
Babbler # 4717

posted 07 June 2004 11:16 AM      Profile for Screaming Lord Byron     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post
My most treasured election night highlights stem from the 1997 British election. I was a student in Glasgow, and my friends and I had a bet that we would have a drink every time a Tory lost his seat. They lost over 160 seats. Despite this, my memories are pretty good of that night.
I recall with fondness the eviction of Thatcherite poster-boy and (then) closet case Michael Portillo shockingly thrown out of a supposedly safe Tory seat by an openly gay man (Portillo took it with surprising grace). A seething cabinet minister David Mellor brawling with the mocking neo-fascist Sir James Goldsmith after losing his seat. I recall dozens of sleazy arrogant Conservatives stunned by the verdict of the electorate, from the crook Neil Hamilton in Tatton, buried by a BBC reporter turned politician, to every single Tory in Scotland and Wales being swept aside in the anti-tory torrent.

So what of June 28th, what will be the highlights of our election? Here's some possibilities I look forward to -

Liberal scalps in BC - Hedy Fry, still so sure that the KKK is recruiting in Prince George in a surprise loss to the NDP.
The turncoats buried - Haggard and Chan sink without a trace, Dosanjh lives his worst nightmare, elected to a Liberal party in opposition that cannot reward his treachery
David Anderson booted from Victoria.

Conservative shocks in the west.
Rob Anders suddenly in need of a new job (well, I can dream).
Malcolm Azania pulling off a come-from behind shocker in Strathcona.