babble home
rabble.ca - news for the rest of us
today's active topics

FAQ | Forum Home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» babble   » archived babble   » the middle east and central asia   » Canada and the Palestinians

Email this thread to someone!    
Author Topic: Canada and the Palestinians
Wilf Day
rabble-rouser
Babbler # 3276

posted 05 January 2006 12:14 AM      Profile for Wilf Day     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post
I've been asked a couple of times if colonialism is something that is recognized more and more as a destructive and oppressive force in recent decades, and if that explains why younger leftists are more often pro-Palestinian than us older types.

Since I'm no expert on the history of Canadian attitudes to the Palestinians, I asked someone who is. Here's a summary, which matches my own recollection.

At first, no one in Canada spoke against the way Israel had treated the Palestinians, except a small handful of far-left Jews. Almost all Canadians saw the Arabs as more powerful than the Jews, and when Canada had refused to take Jewish refugees, we were certainly in no position to criticize them for moving to Israel. They were beyond argument history's underdogs, as they had been for centuries. Yet some Canadians, it is fair to say, had never devoted as much concern for Jewish refugees before and after the Holocaust as we see in the past two decades for the plight of the Palestinian refugees.