babble home
rabble.ca - news for the rest of us
today's active topics

FAQ | Forum Home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» babble   » walking the talk   » babblers helping babblers   » Guitar lessons in Toronto?

Email this thread to someone!    
Author Topic: Guitar lessons in Toronto?
Kinetix
rabble-rouser
Babbler # 5296

posted 17 December 2005 11:20 PM      Profile for Kinetix     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
I'd like to learn how to play guitar. Any ideas where an absolute beginner can take affordable lessons?
From: Montréal, Québec | Registered: Mar 2004  |  IP: Logged
tallyho
rabble-rouser
Babbler # 10917

posted 17 December 2005 11:42 PM      Profile for tallyho        Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
I can't help you with where in Toronto but any guitar shop will have a list of either group or private lessons.

I've played guitar for decades and used to give lessons now and then. If you have a guitar, then it's not a bad idea to first get familiar with the basics on your own. Libraries have lots of 'how to books' that often come with cassettes or today, CDs. You'll find if spend an hour or so a day for a couple months that when you take lessons you'll get a lot more out of them.

Tuning a guitar can be an issue at first but you can but an inexpensive electronic tuner. Also, if you walk into most music shops someone will be glad to take a couple minutes to tune your guitar and, if you buy a string or two, show you how to put them on and tune them.

Keep at it. The pain in the finger tips soon goes away. There's nothing sweeter than when the practice pays off and you get a natural rythym.

From: The NDP sells out Alberta workers | Registered: Nov 2005  |  IP: Logged
Kinetix
rabble-rouser
Babbler # 5296

posted 21 December 2005 04:40 AM      Profile for Kinetix     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
I've got a tuner and I can already read music.