babble home
rabble.ca - news for the rest of us
today's active topics

FAQ | Forum Home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» babble   » current events   » national news   » Venezuelan move to replace US$ with the €uro upsetting Washington more than Saddam's

Email this thread to someone!    
Author Topic: Venezuelan move to replace US$ with the €uro upsetting Washington more than Saddam's
WingNut
rabble-rouser
Babbler # 1292

posted 23 June 2003 11:30 AM      Profile for WingNut   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Is OPEC next?
tyoung
rabble-rouser
Babbler # 3885

posted 23 June 2003 11:48 AM      Profile for tyoung        Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Not being an economics expert, I have been struggling to understand both this article and the discussion of how Iraq's move to trade in euros was so distasteful to the yanks before they invaded.

This article sheds some light on the consequences for the US if their currency slips from its position as "world standard":

quote:
The dollar is the de facto world reserve currency: the US currency accounts for approximately two thirds of all official exchange reserves. More than four-fifths of all foreign exchange transactions and half of all world exports are denominated in dollars. In addition, all IMF loans are denominated in dollars.

But the more dollars there are circulating outside the US, or invested by foreign owners in American assets, the more the rest of the world has had to provide the US with goods and services in exchange for these dollars. The dollars cost the US next to nothing to produce, so the fact that the world uses the currency in this way means that the US is importing vast quantities of goods and services virtually for free.

Huh.

OPEC seems to have gotten the message as they watch the plunder of Iraq- this story states:

quote: