FAQ | Forum Home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» babble   » current events   » canadian politics   » Doubts about Pro Rep

Email this thread to someone!    
Author Topic: Doubts about Pro Rep
V. Jara
rabble-rouser
Babbler # 9193

posted 29 July 2005 08:42 AM      Profile for V. Jara     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post
I admit I am not a Pro Rep expert, so I can only speak from what I have observed in other countries. I am no longer sure about my position on pro rep, having doubts about how democratic it ultimately can be.

In some ways pro rep concentrates power more, rather than nominating candidates locally at the constituency level, central parties get to develop lists that cherry pick the candidates they want to get elected. Often the most exciting or populist new candidates are shoved near the end of voter lists to motivate party activists and voters to vote in greater numbers for the straight party ticket. Often the result is that these candidates do not get elected. This favours party insiders.